Showing posts with label basic. Show all posts
Showing posts with label basic. Show all posts

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Using the extract filter in Photoshop

In this tutorial you will learn how to extract the background from an image using the extract filter in Photoshop. Extracting removes the background and leaves the object in place. You can also use the pen tool or the quick mask tool to remove the background, but I find using the extract filter easier.

Using the extract filter in Photoshop

Step 1


Open an image in Photoshop. I have used a free stock image, but you can use whatever image you wish.




Step 2

Select the Extract filter by going to Filter > Extract. On the Tool options to the right, adjust the brush size to your liking. Then paint over the areas of the image to create an edge of where you want to retain like below. Notice that you don�t have to be too accurate with the paint brush as any mistakes can be later corrected.




Step 3

Select the Fill tool (G) on the tools panel on the left and fill in the selection. The selection will appear in a blue colour. If you wish to see what your image will look like you can click the preview button, otherwise click ok.




Step 4

My extracted image has not come out perfectly, but this can easily be fixed. Select the History Brush tool and recover any missing areas. Then select the eraser tool to remove any extra areas.



Once you have corrected the damaged area you will be left with the following image.



Now you can add any background of your choice to the image.

Sunday, January 10, 2010

Black and white sketch effect

In this tutorial you will learn how to create a black and white sketch effect using the threshold adjustment and various filters. The black and white sketch gives the effect of a hand drawn picture using black and white paint. I have used a free stock image of a woman, a full list of free stock images can be found here. This effect works best if you use a self portrait image.


Black and white sketch effect

Step 1

Open an image in Photoshop.




Step 2

Select Image > Adjustments > Threshold and adjust the threshold levels to your liking and click ok. I have set my level to 109.




Step 3

Add a diffuse filter by selecting Filter > Stylize > Diffuse and select the option Anisotropic and click ok.




Step 3

Now add a sharpening filter by selecting Filter > Sharpen > Sharpen edges.



You should now have a black and white sketch effect.

Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Colour correction in Photoshop

In this tutorial you will learn how to perform colour correction in Photoshop using the Hue/Saturation adjustments settings and the Quick mask tool. I will be correcting the man�s t-shirt colour in this tutorial.

Colour correction in Photoshop

Step 1

Open an image in Photoshop and the reset the colour palette by pressing the �D� key on the keyboard.




Step 2

Select the Brush tool with an appropriate size and then enter the quick mask mode by selecting the Q key. Then paint over the areas of the image where you don�t want to change the colour. Since, I only want to change the t-shirt colour this would be most of the image like below.




Step 3

Exit out of the Quick mask mode by selecting the Q key, and you should see the area around the t-shirt selected.




Step 4

Select Image > Adjustment > Hue/Saturation and then drag the sliders to your liking. I have added the following settings: Hue = 50, Saturation = 69 and Lightness = -18. Make sure you select the saturation checkbox.



You should now be able to perform colour correction in Photoshop.